Medicare Confusion at Age 57

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Medicare Confusion at Age 57

I am disabled at age 57. I will be eligible for Medicare effective Oct 1 2019 and I am so confused. I saw a SHIIP advisor on Monday and thought I understood until I started contacting insurance companies. It seems no company offers plan G under Medicare Part C if you're under 65. And then because of my MS the cost for Rx is crazy. That's another whole subject because I can't get assistance until I find an Rx plan. Those plans are off the chain expensive because of my Gilenya and a couple of other high tier meds.

Can anyone offer some form of direction on how this works. Regular medicare vs Medicare Advantage Plans. I have been paying COBRA for the past two years and I just don't understand which would be an advantage for me since I am dealing with not only MS but other health issues as well. As most of us know, MS brings on a host of other complications. I don't really want a high deductible since I have so many doctors as well as a couple of necessary in office procedures a year.

I am under stress from this ordeal of trying to figure out supplemental or Advantage coverage. Any direction or input would be appreciated. My brain is spinning.

Medicare is complicated and confusing.

My doctors do not accept Medicare Advantage plans so I ruled those out.

When looking at the different plans, look at total out of pocket expenses.
    My high deductible plan F has a low premium so my total cost is about the same as low deductible plans with high premiums.

I wish you well with your decision. It shouldn’t be so hard.

Comment

You may want to look into taking an infusion MS drug as that falls under a different part of Medicare - part B and not the part D. I think, am not 100% sure, that it can make a huge monetary difference and that is part of the reason I am on an infusion so that when I lose my ins. I can continue meds.

Comment