Decided on Tec but want help with questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Decided on Tec but want help with questions

My Neuro gave me 3 DMD's to decide on. Having read all the info on the 3 I chose Tec. Can anyone give me a good list of things to discuss with my Neuro when I tell him I chose this? I know I need Liver Function blood work, but do I need to make sure I get any prescriptions for nausea or is there anything else I need to discuss with him?

Thank you
    Peace to all,
    LM
    RRMS 11/11/2005, SPMS 20011 (guess I 'graduated')

Side effects

I've been using tecfidera for 2 months only since my dx, no relapse yet since dx my neuro said it would take 6 months to start working so I'm anxiously awaiting my MRI on aug 02 this year we will know how I'm doing that day.

I experienced minimal side effects so far but ask your neurologist how long to wait to expect if it is a good med for you or not and ask about your white blood cell count too.

wish I could be more helpful but I'm just newly diagnosed there's others on tecfidera that can offer more help.

Comment

Unfortunately there is no way of knowing what side effects you will get so getting any prescriptions in advance probably wont work. From my partners experience, who started tec just over 6 months ago, make sure you eat something fatty before/while taking the medication and try and leave a good gap between the 2 doses, ideally 12 hours as this helped reduce the side effects for my partner who suffered from stomach cramps and flushing.

Your Neuro should take you through everything once they know your decision so I wouldnt panic that you need to ask them questions, most likely your questions will arise as they discuss. Good luck.

Comment

Hi Fishytrout,
        I've been away for a couple of months and couldn't wait to get back on the boards.
        I didn't have any problems with Tecfidera side neffects. I took Tec for about 3 years until I stopped using it, about 1 year ago.