Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SSI DENIED TWICE!!! HELP!!

Hello everyone and anyone !

I have been a Registered Nurse for 27 yrs and just got terminated from my last position on June 1st.

I was dx last March (2016) after having what were now determined to be symptoms due to MS(especially dizziness and falls-one caused a Fractured Hip at work and ultimately a Total Hip replacement).

I was using Intermittent FMLA for a year but ran out.

I have been getting Short Term Disability via my last employer(starting around July 3rd) which was only going to be for about 3 wks. I now have to wait to hear the insurance company's decision to find out if I can get it extended.

My employer terminated me when they read the paperwork from my Neuro stating that my condition is lifelong and that she wasn't sure that I would be able to return. They stated that they cannot accommodate ADA. This position that I held was work at home exclusively. Cannot get much easier physically.

I now have no health insurance and am waiting for assistance to be able to get my non-MS meds and my Copaxone. I applied for Medicaid and was denied(my daughter is 22 yrs old) which I knew would happen since I was a Case Manager with this same company before doing Nurse Advice Line.

Just 2 weeks prior to taking a short leave (due to my horrible dizziness, exhaustion and most importantly my memory issues-word finding and critical thinking), I saw my Neuro. She felt that I needed MRIs of my C-spine and Thoracic spine as my symptoms aren't improving and I had never had those 2 scans. The C-spine had lesions on it which may be showing worsening of my MS. This is why I need a repeat Brain MRI and possible change from Copaxone to an IV MS Med. Now I can't have the MRI due to the cost. Nobody will help due to my income last year.

I filed my appeal right away online.