New to MS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to MS

My name is Jim. I am new to MS. I was diagnosed in January. By all current information I have Primary Progressive type. I am not new to chronic illness. I have had a disorder called Charcot-Marie-Tooth since early childhood. It is a neuromuscular disorder that has many of the same symptoms of MS. However, there were symptoms that did not fit with CMT. I have found a number of people with CMT who also have MS, although there is nothing to suggest a causal relationship. In July of this year, I began having vertigo and nystagmus. The nystagmus has stayed with me. It is only now getting better with the help of Tegretol. A neuro-opthomologist I see for the nystagmus saw plaques in my brain that made him suspect MS. A lumbar puncture confirmed it. This was overwhelming at first, but I see that the diagnosis of MS simply puts a name to the symptoms I am already having. These are symptoms the CMT could not explain.

I am married and have two children. I have been on disability for around 10 years. I thought it was the CMT, but I now believe it is a combination of the two disorders. I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker. I look forward to learning more about MS. I would like to also learn more from people who have both MS and CMT.

fe

Hi Jim ! My name is JerryD from Philadelphia, PA. I also have PPMS . I have been on disability for about 8 years. I, recently, had Lemtrada infusions which, I hope, will stop the MonSter and will give me some sort of tolerable life back !
    Don't be a stranger. This site is chock full of MSers that know this disease and its crazy symptoms. Good luck! Glad you found us!

Comment

Hi Jim! Just wanted to also welcome you to MSWorld! Sorry you are having to deal with two chronic conditions now. You might also find more responses about CMT and MS from others if you post a new thread in our NMO and Other Disorders Forum if others don't respond here.