Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any Long-term Users Age 60+?

Hi All,

I'm curious if there are any long-term Avonex Users Age 60+ who are still maintaining Avonex tx? Do you plan to stay on tx after age 65+? If you switched from Avonex tx, why did you choose to do so (progression, needle fatigue, etc.?).

I'll be turning 50 shortly, and am curious about my fellow long-term Avonex users. I've been self-injecting Avonex since September 1997 (dx May 1994), and despite a few mild relapses (2003, 2008) my MRIs have been stable. I've had slow progression (bladder, fatigue getting worse with age or MS?).

But, presently, it's been nearly 20 years that I've been on Avonex tx and am curious who else is "with me" or has a similar story. Do you plan to continue indefinitely or stop at age 65?

Thanks, in advance, for your input!
    Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass; it's learning to dance in the rain!

Hi there - I'm rarely on this site but I saw your message and wanted to respond. You sound like me. I'm 49 and have been on Avonex since July 1997. I've done well on Avonex and consider myself very lucky, although I too have had progression with bladder issues and fatigue.

For years, I waited for a non-injection to come out so I could be done with shots for good. After trying, and failing, Tecfidera, I went back to Avonex a few years back. At this point, I assume I'll be on Avonex until I'm done with all DMDs.

Which brings me to this...my doctor is participating in a trial that is looking at whether MS patients, who are stable, can stop all drugs when they hit 55. He is hopeful the trial will prove this to be true, as he says MS progression slows to the point of almost ceasing at 55. The trial is being sponsored by MS research centers across the country, as pharmaceutical companies would clearly have no interest in this research.

If the trial is successful, I will be off Anonex in 6 years. I am elated to think this may be the case.