Normal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Normal?

I am new to rrms and have been on betaseron for about a month. It is my first dmd. We have been increasing my dose every two weeks and I am currently getting .75. The last few injections have really burned when going in. I don't have any burning after, just while it is being injected. Is this normal? I let the injection sit 12 minutes after reconstitution and use the betaconnect auto injector on the slowest setting. I was just curious if the burning and pain during injection was normal or if anyone had any tips.

Thank you you for any help you are able to offer!

I used to be on Betaseron (2003-2008). I wish I could remember more about my side effects. I do remember that it wasn't unusual to burn going in, but it stopped hurting after the injection. I think it helped to do the injection at room temperature, rather than just out of the refrigerator. (But, maybe that's just Copaxone; can't remember.)

Hopefully, someone else will be along who can give you advice.
    ~ Faith
    MSWorld Volunteer -- Moderator since JUN2012
    (now a Mimibug)

Symptoms began in JAN02
    - Dx with RRMS in OCT03, following 21 months of limbo, ruling out lots of other dx, and some "probable stroke" and "probable CNS" dx for awhile.
    - In 2008, I was back in limbo briefly, then re-dx w/ MS: JUL08

- Betaseron NOV03-AUG08; Copaxone20 SEPT08-APR15; Copaxone40 APR15-present
    - Began receiving SSDI / LTD NOV08. Not employed. I volunteer in my church and community.

Comment

Hi Becs:

I never used Betaseron, but I did use Rebif and Copaxone, both subcutaneous injections like Betaseron. Both of them stung a LOT, so it doesn't surprise me that Beta stings, too.