EMERGENCY EVACUATION IN THE WORKPLACE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EMERGENCY EVACUATION IN THE WORKPLACE

My employer just notified me that they will not be giving me "special" treatment or assisting me to the stairwell in the event of an emergency. I am unable to walk and use a scooter/wheelchair, but I am unable to wheel myself as my right arm no longer is useful. I contacted JAN (Job Assistance Network) with the Department of Labor and they said my company has to make sure I am out of the building. I also brought in documentation from the DOL stating that support may be required to evacuate me. The CEO gave me two options. She said I can work from home FT or risk knowing I will not be helped if I come into the office. As nice as working from home sounds, I feel "normal" coming into work and forget about MS. Do I need to hire legal help? Do they have the right to refuse assistance to a disabled employee?

I have zero legal knowledge but doubt they can refuse to help you out although if I were you and was in a building that I couldn't remove myself from in the rare chance of an emergency evacuation I'd be hesitant to count on someone helping me even if they agreed in advance. During emergencies people can freak out and although they might normally be helpful if the flight/flight instinct kicks in it would be difficult to predict their assistance with certainty, imo.

Number one I'd get their position in writing, email perhaps? The other thing for your own safety and piece of mind is to figure out a way to modify your wheel chair so you can operate it to get yourself out in an emergency? And possibly make sure local responders know there is a disabled person in that building in the event of an emergency? Good luck and I hope others with information of the legalese will write also.