No announcement yet.

Excellent review of the role of inflammation in disease processes in general:

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Excellent review of the role of inflammation in disease processes in general:

I would love to hear from those more knowledgable about nutrition than I am. I'm just learning about all of this and am completely overwhelmed:

http://thedoctorweighsin.com/what-ca...mation-part-2/

When I read that article, I am also overwhelmed.

A few things that I do know about nutrition, related to inflammation:
    1. Choose:
      • whole grains
      • colorful vegetables (dark leafy greens, sweet potatoes, peppers, etc)
      • nuts (especially almonds and walnuts)
      • berries
      • fatty fish
      • low-fat dairy
      • ginger, turmeric
      • garlic, onions
      • coconut oil

2. Avoid or limit:
      • Foods high in sugar
      • Refined grains -- such as white rice, pastas, etc
      • Common cooking oils (safflower, soy, corn, sunflower)
      • trans fats or hydrogenated oil -- often found in processed products such as snacks foods, baked goods, crackers, etc
      • Artificial food additives
    ~ Faith
    MSWorld Volunteer -- Moderator since JUN2012
    (now a Mimibug)

Symptoms began in JAN02
    - Dx with RRMS in OCT03, following 21 months of limbo, ruling out lots of other dx, and some "probable stroke" and "probable CNS" dx for awhile.
    - In 2008, I was back in limbo briefly, then re-dx w/ MS: JUL08

- Betaseron NOV03-AUG08; Copaxone20 SEPT08-APR15; Copaxone40 APR15-present
    - Began receiving SSDI / LTD NOV08. Not employed. I volunteer in my church and community.

Comment

Finding reliable information