Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

STD Claim Denial - Self-Reported Fatigue

ADVICE DESPERATELY NEEDED.

I recently filed for short-term disability with my employer of 18 years. Extreme fatigue and accompanying cognitive issues just got to be too much.

Fatigue is an all day, everyday, event. All activities, whether work related or simple non-physical activities around the home, are limited to 1 - 2 hours max before my body (and frequently my mind) gives out to the point that I am pretty much useless for the next few hours.

My claim was denied primarily due to having "self-reported" symptoms. Although I've been self-reporting these symptoms for 2+ years now, and my neuro has documented such-including worsening over this time period-my employer's STD carrier doesn't seem to care. They want "OBJECTIVE MEDICAL EVIDENCE" to support my claim.

Question for my fellow MSers (disability attorneys also), have you found yourself in this same boat (or for attorneys, have you helped a client with similar problems?)? If so, how did you handle this, and what objective medical evidence did you have/use? Are there any medical tests that would confirm fatigue and its severity?

Being that fatigue is so common and one of the top reasons people who suffer from MS leave their employ, I'm hoping to receive advice to help me through this frustrating and stressful time.

Thanks in advance.
    PPMS; DX April 2011
    Copaxone 40 mg (April 2011 - May 2017); Ocrevus (July 2017 - current)

Sorry to hear AZ.