Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DIET for MS - question

Hello,
    I am new to all this MS related topics. Freshly DX, lots of questions and confusions.
    I have been reading about different types of diets, healthy ideas, that might help to slow down the progression of MS, or do good for hour health in general.

We are eating pretty healthy in general. My wife cooks every day, almost no processed food, home made, old style kitchen. However, when I read about the different diets I get very confused.

For ex. PALEO diet is ok with meat- Mc Dougal eliminates meat.
    PALEO says NO to dairy, so is McDougal, but Swank is allowing low fat dairy.

Most diets recommends fisf, Omega 3, but McDougall says no to fish.

Do you have an explanation. What is good and what should I avoid?

Thank you

in my experience, none of them made a noticeable difference. But, I will say that healthy = overall feeling better (as far as my experience).
    hunterd/HuntOP/Dave
    volunteer
    MS World
    hunterd@msworld.org
    PPMS DX 2001

"ADAPT AND OVERCOME" - MY COUSIN

Comment

Bosman --

I've tended to have some of the same questions as you do. I also wonder how such different dietary strategies can be recommended.

I tend to believe that a healthy diet, in general, is a good idea but I don't stress about the specific diets. I went on a weight loss diet about 4 or 5 years ago and lost 60 pounds and the weight loss (went from a size 22 to a size 6 -- I'm now at a size 10) helped things like my balance (a lot!) and my fatigue (a little).

While changing my diet during that phase, I noticed that, when I cut down on carbs, I was also naturally cutting way back on gluten. Intestinal symptoms that I'd currently assumed were MS-related ended up being related to a gluten intolerance. I now eat much less gluten, especially if the product also has yeast in it, and my frequent diarrhea has disappeared.