Juggling caregivng with career change!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Juggling caregivng with career change!

I am somewhat new to the MS care giving scene, with my wife recently having a major relapse with her MS as a result of her recent pregnancy. She is currently undergoing rehabilitation to build up her strength and mobility. I am hopeful she will make a recovery, but I am also acutely aware she may not get back 100%. Therefore between how well she recovers and future relapses, I am accepting the fact that I will need to take on more of a caregiver role.

However I am also at a crossroads where I want to change my career after working 15 years in IT and burnt out and needing a change. I have the opportunity to complete a degree in Environmental Science and possibly change careers 2-3 years from now. This career change would have a drop in income too. So my question is should I stay with the current IT career instead of the Environmental Science one, because it will provide more income and the possibility to work remotely to help as a caregiver?

I feel guilty about wanting to do this career change, when my focus should be 100% on my wife and our daughter. Any advise from caregivers in similar situations would be most helpful as I try to weigh up my options.

** Moderator's note - Post broken into paragraphs for easier reading. Many people with MS have visual difficulties that prevent them from reading large blocks of print. **

Hi,
    Not a caregiver, I'm the one with MS, but I went in the opposite direction and actually changed careers when I was diagnosed in an effort to have a better paying career secondary to concerns about MS despite being rather happy at my previous job.

I'm guessing you and your wife discussed the implications of this before you decided to have a baby? What was the family plan?