Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cognitive Impairment - Are My Docs Right???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cognitive Impairment - Are My Docs Right???

Hello....

I've been diagnosed with MS for over 10 years. I'm still in my 30s and was recently diagnosed with severe cognitive impairment. I'm a scientist and this information was a blow to me. I wanted to keep working, but I knew that I couldn't keep up with anyone. Plus my Doc said I had the grade level of a 9th grader. Wow. "Me..a Scientist".

So I wanted to transfer to a new position within the same company, but all 3 docs refused that I do this and strongly advised me to apply for long term disability. And so I did...but was denied.

To keep the long story short, I asked my docs to release me to go back to work and they said "NO". So i have no income and no work to go back to. Interesting.

So I was advised by docs to get a lawyer. I did..but can't afford it..cause...again...i was denied for LTD and currently not working...and docs won't release me to go back to work.

So now I'm in the process of appealing... no money...with a family to support.

Sometimes I feel that Docs have it wrong. WHY THE HECK DID I LISTEN TO THEM. I should have kept on working and dealt with the cog issues myself; maybe found a less demanding job or something. Instead I listened to my docs and now I'm in this dark hole.

I don't think Docs know what they're talking about sometimes..and if the do, I think they don't understand the tole it takes on MS patients to go through this darkness...

I'm so lost and just plain sad with all of this. I see depression being in my near future. it's hitting home for me....now i'm lost in this world of "the unknown".

Docs said I can't work...Insurance company said I can...and guess who's stuck to suffer the consequences of all of this....ME. .... AND IT'S KILLING THE VERY CORE THAT KEEPS ME GOING. I'm just so lost and don't know what to do.