Is this spascity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this spascity

I am having a new symptom and was wondering if this is spasticity. The feeling is kind of hard to describe. I am having increased weakness in my legs and something that feels a little like cramping, but not exactly. It is painful. My whole body is pretty much numb and has been for about 2 years, seems that maybe I can feel a little more of the pins and needles today.

I have never had pain with my MS other than the pin pricks, but last night was very uncomfortable, seems to be muscle pain. Have a little of this feeling in my arms and hands too. If I walk the weakness gets worse as well as the "cramping". I am a nurse and have had multiple patients with MS who have spasticity, but their legs and arms jerked uncontrollably, was an obvious spasm and I am not.

I have not had anyone describe what I am feeling. I have never had spasticity myself and was wondering if that could be what this is. I know electrolyte depletion can cause muscle cramps, but that's not it. My fingers and toes feel a little stiff also, it's hard to type this. Anyone felt this before?

** Moderator's note - Post broken into paragraphs for easier reading. Many people with MS have visual difficulties that prevent them from reading large blocks of print. **

My spasticity prevented range of motion, and I'd get the jerking (clonus)...but that was years into when the symptom first started.

When I first had spasticity, I had it in my calf and it felt like I needed to stretch out my calf or achilles tendon. It got worse with movement, more crampy feeling and more pain.

I've heard spasticity feelings explained as imagining you have a bungee cord from your heel of your shoe to your waist, and when you're walking you have to work against the elastic bungee.