Calgarians?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Calgarians?

I am new to this forum. I am also relatively new to Canada and Calgary. I got my diagnose in January and have been experiencing all kinds of weird symptoms for years, now it is clear that those were already MS symptoms.

Due to all these problems, I became pretty isolated. Kids are all bigger and in university and some how they don't like me to bring them to school anymore
    Maybe better because I don't have the energy anyways.

I'd love to learn from other Calgarians, how do you cope with living in the big city, living in the wintermonths with mobility issues, etc. I am still doubting if I'd like to go to the MS Society's support groups. Not sure if I that's what I am looking for. On the other hand, I am getting too much isolated which isn't good either.

Oh a bit about me. I am only 48, I love my family, my pets, reading and cooking and I spend some of my good hours starting a new foundation called Meaningful Meals, this keeps my busy and most of all combines my passions for food/family and organizing.

Hi Anneke, not a Calgarian but just wanted to say Hi from a fellow Canadian. Your foundation sounds interesting, can you tell us a bit about it?

Also 48, big family (3 adult kids & 3 step-kids), 3 cats, 1 dog... can't stand cooking. There's a recipe forum here, please feel free to post some of your recipes there for us "domestically challenged" members.

The MS Society runs a newly diagnosed series (when I went it was 1 night per week for 4 weeks). It's a good place to start, not intimidating or frightening, extremely valuable info. As you are new to Canada, it would also be good to attend their Income Tax info night (usually in Feb). I go every year as our tax rules change often.