Extavia to start or not start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extavia to start or not start

I am new to this, I was diagnosed a year ago last June 2012 with RRMS. I am 62 years old and supposedly have had MS for over 30 years.

In my early 30's had Bell's Palsy, in my 40's went blind in my left eye for a week, and carpal tunnel in both hands- witch turns out to be lessons on my spine (not carpal tunnel). My 50's went numb from my toes to my waist with a tight pulling band around my waist the MS Hug. Each and everytime I would have some type of symptoms I was under a lot of stress. I have removed the stress from my life change my diet and exercise regularly, I am felling the best I have felt in a long time.

Now for my question my Neurologist wants me to start Extavia this scares the bejesus out if me. I am not a big fan on taking drugs that are going to mess up my liver, kidney and thyroid, but of course they can put me on more drugs to help with the side effects. I fell as if I will be going from no drugs to god only knows how much more . Does anyone not take MS meds? And if you take Extavia can you let me know how it effects you? I AM SCARED TO START THE SHOTS AND SCARED NOT TO.

** Moderator's note - Post broken into paragraphs for easier reading. Many people with MS have visual difficulties that prevent them from reading large blocks of print. **

Extavia is an interferon. All the drugs have potential side effects. That is why it is a very personal decision to start on a DMD.

I have had MS since my 30s, I am now 50. Went drug-free for the first half and started drugs in my 40s. I have been on Avonex, Rebif, and Copaxone. I am getting ready to start Tysabri here shortly. I have not taken any of the oral meds....yet. You need to know I am very pro-DMD, but again it is a personal decision.