Hi there! New here and feeling alone.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi there! New here and feeling alone.

First of all, let me apologize for what will probably be a long, rambling post. I've been trolling the boards for a few weeks, but I've finally decided to post something myself in hopes of finding a few friends on here that understand my situation.

A little bit about me... I am a 30-year-old female and I live with my fiance (we've been together 11 years this March!) and our 9-year-old daughter. They are the absolute loves of my life. My fiance works full-time, while I worked as a cocktail waitress 3-5 nights a week until Thanksgiving when I severely sprained my ankle. Not working for 3 months has obviously hindered us financially. I finally got the okay to go back to work the week after next, but now that I've got this other health issue rearing its ugly head, I find that nearly impossible to even think about.

A few days after New Year's, while I was still laid up and on crutches, my right hand started to tremor. I didn't get concerned until it had been a few days, and then my left hand start to tremor as well. About a week later, my good leg felt asleep all day and was very weak. This only lasted about a day or so. I had also developed weird back pain and facial numbness over the course of the next couple weeks, so I headed to the ER. They did lumbar and pelvic x-rays for my back and a head CT. All came back clear, so they sent me home with braces for my wrists (they diagnosed me with carpal tunnel from over-use of the crutches) and enough pain-meds to kill a horse for my back. As we were leaving, though, the doctor told me to keep an eye on my symptoms over the next month, as it could be MS, but he highly doubted it.