Newly diagnosed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newly diagnosed

I don't know where to begin. I am angry at the physicians that gaffed me off over the years even though I had Juvenal rheumatoid arthritis and strong family history of autoimmunity. Guess it is best, to let go and move forward. Just started day 2 of iv steroids, no Improvement yet. What is my fate? I know the steroids will deplete immune system. But this complicated by the fact that I am an ER nurse and exposed to illnesses daily.

I am also enrolled masters program for nurse practitioner, but with the dizziness and blurred vision not able to keep up. Not trying to be Debbie downer or woos me I have worked hard to get where I am and not ready to give up on my dreams. So how soon (realistically) can these flares hang around and how soon will steroid start helping?

Hi ...

I wanted to respond to your post and tell you I'm sorry you're here. I don't really have an answer as its different for everyone. I too am a nurse. I was recently medically retired from the Air Force because of my MS which my civilian neuro couldn't get under control.

I had many doses of IVSM but never really got relief. I was plagued with vertigo/dizziness for months and that finally went away but the blurry vision has stayed and gotten worse.

I no longer work as a bedside nurse and haven't for quite sometime now, it wasn't safe (I was an L&D nurse). I'm not currently on MS meds because of serious reactions to those available. I'm starting IVIG on Feb 4th and will use that until BG-12 is released or my neuro proves I have Devic's disease which is what he believes I have based on symptoms and MRI results but my blood test was negative.

I am in a PhD nursing program which I hope finish despite my vision. I want to wish you luck in your APN program. Check with disability services at your school, they might be able to help you. Keep in touch, my email is on my profile if you want to keep in touch. Take care