Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what can an OT do for me?

Hi Susan,

Exactly what could an occupational therapist do for me? I know I have issues with my executive functioning. I don't think quickly on my feet anymore (I'm a teacher). I can't remember the details of incidents that end up in the principal's office. I confuse myself while creating lesson plans and usually overlook (forget) to include something important in those plans. I often feel like I'm coming at at a task like a shotgun rather than a precise laser.

And if these are things that an OT can help with, how do I make that happen? I've asked my neuro about it and he just nods and makes a note on my chart. I've listed these concerns to him more than once and he just nods and says "hmmm" which makes me feel that these issues that I struggle with are really not a big deal in the big picture. If indeed they're no big deal, then why am I consistantly struggling with the same issues over and over? Can an OT help me work through some of this? Or perhaps I just need a shrink!

sherill

Hi Sherill

Yes, OT assists with cognitive functioning. You do require a prescription from a doctor for occupational therapy with a notation regarding cognition - Some doctors simply write cognitive evaluation and treatment

Occupational therapists are educated in several cognitive assessments that can identify functional loss. An OT can address issues with memory, executive functioning, concrete and abstract thinking, attention, logic and more.

It's great that you are on top of this and I encourage you to pursue it. Perhaps your doctor may be more inclined to have you see a neuropsychologist which would provide assessment and treatment as well.

Meanwhile, I often recommend a good website where you can do assessments and then activities according to your needs on your own - at no cost, www.lumosity.com

Good luck and please keep me posted
    Be Well,
    Susan

Comment