How to start in this situation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to start in this situation?

I am a full time student. I have 83 credits currently - but probably need 2 years to finish - spring 2013 graduation date. I just don't know that I can make it. I thought I could go to grad school, but it is becoming more and more obvious that I will not be able to do that. I was hoping for that, but since my diagnosis I have just been slowly but surely getting worse. Physically and cognitively. It really stinks, but if I am honest with myself, it is happening.

So, what should I do? I have no insurance, and obviously no job as I am a student and my husband supports our home. Can I apply now while I am still going to college? If I am approved do I have to drop out right away? Honestly, the thing I am really interested in most is insurance. I don't even know how it works. Thanks.
    Sasha - dx January 2011; tysarbi, zanaflex, gabapentin, and baclofen
    ~Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, it is about learning to dance in the rain.~

In a way, SSDI can be considered to be early retirement because a physical disability prevents a person from working at substantial gainful activity. SSDI considers whether you can work, not whether you can go to school, so you don't have to drop out of school to get SSDI.

To SSDI, the question isn't whether you can to to school but whether you can work. Under SSDI, a person is still able to work up to the point that they earn $1000 per month. Your ability to finish school is irrelevant to SSDI. If you can scrub toilets or flip burgers, you can still work and may not qualify for SSDI.

SSDI is work related and income related; it isn't an insurance program. But because it is, in a way, an early retirement program, people on SSDI disability are eligible to participate in Medicare, beginning 29 months after the date of disability (the 6 month disability eligibility period plus 2 years).