X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OT/Hand Tremor

Susan,

First let me just say Thank you!!

I've done a good round of OT about 6 years ago and it was a wonderful experience. I was so appreciative of my Occupational Therapist. Thanks for answering our questions and being here for us.

I am a photographer and have had to close down my business due mostly to my cognitive issues, but also due to my hand tremor that has progressively gotten worse. I continue to do my photography as a hobby (can never give it up!), but the brace I use is just not cutting it anymore. It is just one of those used for carpel tunnel syndrome, but I just used it for immobilizing my hand while holding my camera.

My neuro suggested weights (and another round of OT), but didn't tell me anything else. Is there a weighted brace of some sort that you would recommend? It is my left hand and unfortunately I am as ambidextrous as you can get, so I rely on my left hand as much as my right.

I do plan on doing another round of OT, but it won't be until this fall when all my kids are in school full time. Summer is busy season for photographers... and the heat is the worst for me too, so kind of a double-edged sword. Any help you can give would be very much appreciated.

Thank you very much for your time!!
    Erin

doing the Limbo since 2005

Thank you for the welcome Erin!

For many people, weights on the wrist can slow and even eliminate tremors. Weighted utensils help for eating. The tremor is likely to be occurring because of weakness which can worsen from fatigue. Your hands are further away from the body so not only do you have to deal with the weight of the item you may be holding, but you have gravity to deal with!