Question about Down There

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about Down There

This is my first time posting here, I have been diagnosed with MS for 10 years, many exacerbations, but have been experiencing with this current one(started 5 1/2 weeks ago) burning, tingling, urgency, pressure and by the end of the day pain in the vaginal area and rectum. I was tested for UTI 2 times, both negative, and went on a 3 day course of steroids which eliminated the feeling for those 3 days, but then of course it came back. I will see my neuro this Friday and have been taking neurontin, but it does nothing for the burning. Any info would be great, just also to know this could be caused by my MS, and what to say to my neuro. I am thinking I would like a referral to a uro-gynecologist as well. I saw my gyn before I went on steriods, but everything looked fine to him, he prescribed antibiotics for UTI, which I did not have. Thanks!

hugs

I feel so badly for you! I have had the problem with pain 'down there' as you say. Pain, urgency, but never had the burning. My dr didn't treat it with anything. He told me to 'ride it out' since I didn't want steroids. It usually resolved itself when the flare did. I took Motrin when the pain got too annoying. Luckily that works pretty well for me. Did nothing for the urgency. I have no clue what to do for burning. Dr. didn't even suggest I see my GYN since there was no sign of UTI or anything.

I hope your dr can give you something to help. Hang in there.

Comment

If you're having burning, pain &/or frequency, and you've been tested for a UTI with negative results, it's possible that you have Interstitial Cystitis. I'm currently dealing with (yet another!) bout of IC myself.

IC has to be diagnosed by a doctor (usually a urologist); it's a diagnosis of elimination (like MS).

There are things that can be done to help with the burning etc, ranging from medications to dietary changes to stress reduction techniques.