Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

aussie teacher with lesions on brain

Hi to all from way down here in Australia

Wow, I've searched the internet for MS boards and such, but never have I seen one dedicated to teachers. Whoever had this wonderful idea, I love you....

About two weeks ago, I had an MRI done on my brain because we thought I had a pituitary tumor due to declining vision in my left eye. Well, the pituitary was absolutely fine, but the rest of the brain wasn't. I have multiple lesions in the periventricular regions, and the centrum semiovale.

Because it was my normal doc (GP) who ordered the MRI for me, I now have to wait and see a neurologist who is about 1400 klms away. So until I have seen the neurologist, run some tests to rule things in and out, I don't have a definate diagnosis. My GP is pretty certain that it is MS due to the MRI and other symptoms I have.

And I am also a teacher, teach 9 year olds. The fatigue is awful and my memory is shocking. I have had these kids since Jan (our school year is Jan - Dec) and I still muck up their names, use different words when explaining something, etc.

I have never liked sports days and such, and now I know why. The heat has always killed me and left me so run down. My legs have been ok but there are days when doing playground duty that at the end of it, I have sciatica type pain for a couple of hours, then it disappears. This doesn't happen all the time, just every now and again.

I have told my principal what is going on, because, I have another health issue going on too.

I am so looking forward to talking to others, and other teachers, about how we do this.

I am determined to keep teaching for as long as I can. This is for a few reasons. One is for the distraction, and the other is for financial reasons. I also love teaching and couldn't see me doing anything else. I am also very aware that this disease is very unpredictable so my fingers are crossed.