Suprapubic Catheter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Suprapubic Catheter

I don't even know if I spelled it right but has anyone had any experience with this? I have questions from someone who has had this done.

suprapubic catheter

yes, u did spell it right. i've had one for 7+ yrs. i may be able to answer ur question. ask away...

Comment

Me too

Best thing I ever did for myself.

Ask away.

KK

Comment

Catheter questions

I am so happy someone has had experience with this. I have a lot of questions but this is what we can think of. Where do you wear the urinary bag? Do you wear dresses all the time? Does your peehole get sewn shut? What about sex? How do you empty the bag? I have been using a catheter for over 10 years but my hands and feeling are not working and my husband has been having to do it. Have used the indwelling catheter for trips and extented times that my husband is not available, but I don't want to use one permanently.Thanks, Jonna

Comment

jonna, you beat me to it. i am also wondering about those things, only from a mans view. i`m just having too many utis. is there a way to sterilize to prevent uti`s?

dave
          hunterd/HuntOP/Dave
          volunteer
          MS World
          hunterd@msworld.org
          PPMS DX 2001

"ADAPT AND OVERCOME" - MY COUSIN

Comment

suprapubic catheter

k, here goes...
            uti's r common with any indwelling catheter, not just sp's. ask ur dr about taking low-dose daily antibiotics to stave off uti's...it's done all the time.
            i'm a female and never wear dresses. the sp hole is below the waistband. if wearing long pants i strap the bag on my thigh. if i wear shorts i wear a longish top and just shove the bag under it. u can move the tube around, it's not a big deal. also, long shorts (knee-length), and capri's r gr8 cos the legbag fits on the thigh.