New to everything

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to everything

Hello everyone. I’m new here to MSWorld and I’m new to the M.S. World overall. Last fall I had numbness that started in my left leg and worked its way up my left side to my face. The numbness turned into pressure and slowly abated. I thought it was a recurrence of Lyme Disease that I was treated for the year before. I went through three months of antibiotics (and some other oddities the Lyme Doc put me on) and thought I was all better. Some of the residual symptoms were two numb toes, occasional tingling hands and feet and the left side of my face is still occasionally numb.

My GP referred me to a neurologist, the neurologist ordered an MRI of my brain and he found two active lesions. He then ordered a spinal tap which showed more than 5 Obands. He declared me to have MS July 1st. A follow-on MRI of my spine has shown no more lesions… so, this is fairly early, you think? The funny thing is, even though the event last fall was obviously an MS exacerbation (felt like hitting a brick wall) I tested positive for Lyme disease at the time… so I was steadily fooling myself.

I’m a mother of 8 year old twins. I work full time as an engineer… this is how I define myself. Now I suppose I need to add MS patient to the list.. it’s hard to wrap my brain around that. I’m the type of person that will read the last chapter of a book so I know how it ends. That way I can enjoy the journey better. I can’t do that here.

Oh. I want to ask a question. Sometimes I get a charlie horse time freezing of my muscles in my left hand or in my toes…. Is that MS?

Thanks for reading my book everyone.

Hello Today's Child

Welcome to MS World - nice to meet you!

Gosh, that was a coincidence to have Lymes at the same time as MS (since some of the symptoms are so similar).

There's no need in calling yourself an MS patient (unless you want to). You are first a person - with MS.