Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Family Understanding

Hi there,

I was diagnosed in Feb of 2011 after my second attack. I had my first attack in Dec of 2008. I am single and live alone. My family lives in different states. I am an independent consultant, so my income is dependent on projects I get from clients. My first attack took about a year to recover from. Probably because I was under a lot of stress and my GP told me there was nothing wrong with me - even though I expressed concern that I had MS (I had a dream about 11 years ago that I was told I had MS - that never really left my mind).

So from my first attack up until my diagnosis and getting on Avonex, I could not work much. The work I did was part time projects and I did a horrible job, which caused me more stress. I could hardly get out of bed - I'll address this more below.

I had my second relapse after my family came to visit for Christmas in 2010. My family was extremely supportive and planned to move here to be near me and help me. They wanted to get involved with the MS Society as well. I felt so loved and supported - more than ever in my life.

During the next 6 months this all kind of went away. No follow up about moving or being involved with the MS Society. Our communication lessened.

In addition, my best friend did not understand. I think she felt like because I was living a 'normal life', that I should be available most of the time. One of my largest issues has been fatigue - she told me that she had a friend with Lymphoma and she still went out, even during her chemo.

Recently, we had a family vacation. I had to drive about 1300 miles there and back. It was a good time, but during this time my 'life' came up. I was very shocked and hurt by the things I found out on this trip.