Ugh....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ugh....

I am somewhat new to the whole MS lifestyle. I have only been diagnosed for 10 months, however in those ten months I have quickly moved on in my diagnosis to having a very aggressive form of the disease. Here's where it gets tricky, everyone around me treats me as if I am super fragile. Which compared to who I was a year ago, I am totally fragile. But sometimes I just need to feel like I can do something for myself, or for my kids. Nothing major, something like make them a surprise treat when they get home from school. Even though I would need help doing this, it's the being told that you shouldn't because it will wear you out that is really getting to me. This disease has taken everything from me, and I am trying to fight through it without caving into depression and such, but it's really hard to avoid it sometimes when so many decisions are being made for you and not by you anymore.

me too

I am very sorry to hear this. I as well have been told that I can't do things because they will wear me out. And guess what my husband is usually right. But over the last couple of years of this he has learned that sometimes I just have to try to do things and if I get to tired oh well at least I tried and he can finish it ( of course I always make sure he is up to finishing my task before i start) . I hope that you are able to do more things you enjoy sometimes and try to stay positive (easier said than done). Wishing you much better days.
    LIVE LOVE LAUGH

Comment

I am sorry that you see having such a horrible time with this awful disease so soon after being diagnosed. I do not have an aggressive form of ms but I do know how you feel with regard to everyone treating you like you will shatter if you do anything.

I had to gently point to my well meaning family and friends that I didn't like being fussed over before ms and I still feel the same way since my diagnosis... It also reminds me that I'm sick.