Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Discouraged on Tysabri

Hi Everyone,

I am looking for an ear and some advice. I am scheduled to have my 26th Tysabri infusion tomorrow after work at 3:30. I recently had a mild relapse followed by a brain and c-spine MRI last week. The results for my MRI came in the mail today. I have a reactivated lesion at C-3 and 2 new small lesions in my cervical spine as well, my brain has remained stable over the past year.

To complicate matters even more I am 2 weeks late on my infusion because of paperwork at the infusion center and I'm covered in a Poison Ivy rash from yard work a week ago.

The last thing I want to do tomorrow is go have my infusion. With new lesions I am concerned that the risks of Tysabri are starting to outweigh the benefits for me.

Am I just being lazy--I'm a teacher and am exhausted to the max after school each day, last time I was infused I was stuck 3 times, and I'm worried about the poison ivy rash.

What would you do?

Tori

Hi Tori! I'm still relatively new to Tysabri (just had infusion #3). I've be tried Copaxone and Avonex and failed both therapies (no noticable effect on relapse rate.).

Tysabri is not guaranteed to prevent progression so the new lesions that you mentioned don't signify anything unless they effected your function. You will most
    likely continue to accumulate lesions, unfortunetly. hopefully they are silent or develop more slowly then you would have accumulated them without therapy.

As for the poison ivy, annoying yes but it's not an infection, which would be more likely for me to question an infusion at this time.

As for the two week lapse, not ideal but, again, not a deal breaker.

If the drug is heing maintain your function and slow your progression I would not stop. Once the damage of MS os done it can not be healed completely and continues to accumulate.

Just my thoughts! Best of luck to you on your decision.

Comment