I have stopped Aubagio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have stopped Aubagio

My whole body was going into spasms over and over, last week. I went to the ER and I did have a fever and an UTI, but I really feel it was the Aubagio and so I stopped it. My husband wants me off of it, so I am doing the wash out after I am done with my antibiotics. I going back on Copaxone, even though it hasn't held back the lesions, but it's better than nothing and I can tolerate it. I was on Rebif and it affected my liver and then on methotrexate and had problems. I think Aubagio and some of these drugs are still so new and long term effects have not been reported yet. What do you think?

bump. I have no experience with this, I just wanted to bump this up
    hunterd/HuntOP/Dave
    volunteer
    MS World
    hunterd@msworld.org
    PPMS DX 2001

"ADAPT AND OVERCOME" - MY COUSIN

Comment

The medication Aubagio is based on, Arava, has been on the market for rheumatoid arthritis for many years. Since Aubagio is the chemical that he body breaks Arava down into, it is unlikely that there are wild side effects that are unknown. Yes, there could be, but this isn't a chemical fresh out of the gate. It also stays in your body like nobody's business, so if the spasms have stopped before the washout, it's almost certainly not the med. (I'm not a doctor, absolutely run that thought by your neuro if it's relevant to your decision.)

That being said, if you don't like it and it feels wrong then it's best to go with something you are comfortable with. One thing I like about Tecfidera is that once it enters the bloodstream it is gone in 30 minutes to an hour--you breathe it out Unlike Aubagio, it's gone very quickly.

Comment

I started Aubagio in early January about the same time Alicious did (if I remember correctly) and remain on it.

I chose it after discussing in detail with my neurologist and reading up as much as I could. The RA drug tie was also a big factor.