Going back to school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going back to school

Has any msers here had a physical job but couldn’t do it anymore and successfully went back to school with memory and cognitive problems? I’m currently a machinist but can’t really do that anymore. So I’ve been thinking about going back to school to be an engineer. I know it would be hard but it think it would be worth it. I used to be a lot sharper than I am now so I’m thinking help from a neuropsychologist would be needed. Any thoughts?

Hi crazyguy. I don't have any experience with it, but applaud your thinking. I would think having first hand knowledge of how things work may make some engineering classes a little easier than for other students, but agree it will be a challenge, MS or not.

I would definitely consult a neuropsychologist, hopefully get the lengthier testing and not just half day. The reason I say this as cognitive challenges can sometimes cause fatigue, both mental and physical. So you want a test that pushes you cognitively over multiple days to get a better picture.

With the results of the test, if any deficits are noted, you could consult with an occupational therapist for potential tips/tricks to compensate for them.

That should give you good insight into your decision before you invest financially into education.

I wish you all the best!
    Kathy
    DX 01/06, currently on Tysabri

Comment

I went back to school to make a major career change soon after diagnosis in an effort to preserve my longevity in the workplace and secure health benefits. My life was forever changed for the better. I haven't had cognitive issues yet though so if that is the case I'd consider that in my choice of careers. A college counselor might be able to offer individualized suggestions. Good luck!