Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Surgery, Anesthesia, and the aftereffects of the two...help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I had some surgery on Monday. The Anesthesiologist used a spinal block to numb from the waist down and some propofol and fentanyl. My question is this: "Has anyone ever had the feeling that after some anesthesia like I described that things were different with their MS?" I'm having some MS type regression and it's hard to describe, but feels like I cannot get words out and I'm not steady on my feet. I start to lean and I swear if I didn't catch myself, I'd fall right on over. I'm also saying things that don't always make sense. I know this sounds weird, but just wondering. Thanks so much.

Luke, I have no experience with a situation similar to yours. So I'm sorry; I can't respond to your question.

I want to welcome you to MSWorld, though. Feel free to express introduce yourself to us in another thread.
    ~ Faith
    MSWorld Volunteer -- Moderator since JUN2012
    (now a Mimibug)

Symptoms began in JAN02
    - Dx with RRMS in OCT03, following 21 months of limbo, ruling out lots of other dx, and some "probable stroke" and "probable CNS" dx for awhile.
    - In 2008, I was back in limbo briefly, then re-dx w/ MS: JUL08

- Betaseron NOV03-AUG08; Copaxone20 SEPT08-APR15; Copaxone40 APR15-present
    - Began receiving SSDI / LTD NOV08. Not employed. I volunteer in my church and community.

Comment

Welcome Luke.

I have only had general anesthesia since my MS diagnosis. It didn't have any effect on balance, but did feel like word finding issues increased for a fee days.