Am I SPMS?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Am I SPMS?

Have I gone directly to SPMS? Is my neurologist incorrect? I had an episode in August that cleared in a week completely. Then I had my current flare which caused more symptoms but steroids brought symptoms down twice, now I'm off steroids and gradually see small improvements as I couldn't even walk, now I can walk much better but most other symptoms don't really improve much. I'm still believe that I'm in recovery but not sure. I have only experienced remittance once in August. Still waiting for my recovery from my flare I'm sept. at the time of diagnosis. I'm new to this disease but I'm worried.

thx

Originally posted by Ant1981 View Post
    Have I gone directly to SPMS? Is my neurologist incorrect? I had an episode in August that cleared in a week completely. Then I had my current flare which caused more symptoms but steroids brought symptoms down twice, now I'm off steroids and gradually see small improvements as I couldn't even walk, now I can walk much better but most other symptoms don't really improve much. I'm still believe that I'm in recovery but not sure. I have only experienced remittance once in August. Still waiting for my recovery from my flare I'm sept. at the time of diagnosis. I'm new to this disease but I'm worried.

thx
    i may be freaking out a little im 36 male BTW

Comment

Have I gone directly to SPMS?
      By the traditional definition of SPMS, no.

You can only progress to SPMS after having been RRMS for years.

However, I recall reading about them redefining the varieties of MS down to 3 in the last year or two, so SPMS might no longer exist, even. [anyone have a link?]
      1st sx 11/26/09; Copaxone from 12/1/11 to 7/13/18
      NOT ALL SX ARE MS!

Comment

Originally posted by MarkLavelle View Post
        By the traditional definition of SPMS, no.

You can only progress to SPMS after having been RRMS for years.