Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My job is wearing me out and I don't know what to do about it!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My job is wearing me out and I don't know what to do about it!

First, let me say that I love my job. I teach medical coding and billing and health information management at a private college. I've been there for two years, though I've been a college instructor at various schools since 1994.

This semester, due to budget cuts, they let one of our instructors go, which means our department head and I are the only two instructors in our program. Normally, I'm used to teaching the night classes, which meant five hours a night for four nights and then I could do other work (grading, course prep, getting our online classes prepared for approval, etc.) at home. I know it was a cushy schedule for being full-time, and I loved it because it was perfect for me. It kept me from overdoing it and wearing myself out.

However, this semester, I'm having to teach classes (7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.) four days a week and two night classes (5 to 10 p.m.) two nights a week. On the two long days, which are back to back, I'm at work for 14+ hours. I do much better if I can go home in the time in between the morning and evening classes, (which I do when I can) but the department head always lines up conferences for us to go to or there are staff/faculty meetings to attend, or something usually comes up that I have to stay for (projects, book reps, etc.) And today, she was wanting me to go to an all day conference. (I'm always off on Fridays and never go anywhere because I'm trying to recuperate from working those two long days in a row.) Luckily for me, we didn't get to register in time for that conference, so I didn't have to go. Oh, and plus, I still have work that I have to do from home (grading, class prep, etc.) on top of all this.