From Tysabri to BG-12

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From Tysabri to BG-12

Hello...I switched 4 months ago from Tysabri to BG-12....and now I'm having a pretty bad relapse.

Is anyone else experiencing relapses with BG-12? This is actually my second one...a month ago i had some face numbness..got one dose of steroids and it subsided.

Now, I feel like i've been walking on pins and needles for a week and have numbness in other parts. I just finished a 3-day dose of steroids.

I had to change because I am JC+....but wondering if anyone else is also experiencing and is this normal???

Thanks so much!
    Jeanne

Hi Jeanne,

I’m so sorry that you are having problems right now. I have no experience relative to what you are going through but I do know one person who switched from Ty to Tec and back to Ty because of similar problems.

May I ask how well you tolerated Tecfidera before the relapse? Also, how long was the wash-out period coming off Tysabri before starting Tecfidera? Just being inquisitive, if you don’t mind.

I’m praying for you right now that your symptoms will decrease, your strength and well-being will increase, that knowledge of the next best step for you will become clear, and a sense of peace will be with you and in you. Hang in there. You will get better. Weeping endures for the night, joy comes in the morning. You know that morning will come.

Possibly, you may be experiencing IRIS, immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome. It is not unusual coming off Tysabri. You can Google it or read some at this site, also. IRIS is usually treated with steroids. But I’m only guessing, your doctor would know much more about the situation. Just want you to know people are pulling for you.

Comment

I went from Ty to Tec, but there was over a year between the two and I just started the pills last week so not too similar to your situation.

FWIW, I think the important things to remember are: