My Aubagio observations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Aubagio observations

Hi, I'm new to MS Worls, and joined up after seeking people's experiences with Aubagio.

Was diagnosed CIS MS in 2007 during a vicious exacerbation. 13 lesions on spine, none in brain. No optic neuritis or hand/arm issues. Just my legs. Relapse 2 in 2008. Was put on Copaxone in August 2008.

I have had a further two known relapses since then, in mid 2010 (treated with intravenous MethylPrednisolone) and just recently, February 2013 (treated with oral prednisone tapered). The recent relapse was much less severe than the 2010 one, or the others preceding it.

Unfortunately I have had swelling and hive site reactions with the Copaxone and now quite noticeable skin dipping, despite site rotation. Constant heart palpitations that I learned to live with. It's taken the docs a year to come up with an alternative as I tested positive for the JCV virus, was not a Gilenya candidate due to my propensity for heart palpitations, and did not want to take other injection DMDs.

The liver issues concerned me, as I was hospitalised for a number of weeks in 2008 with a amebic liver abscess caused by the dreadful entamoeba histolytica (picked up in Indonesia). So while not MS related, it was an important factor. However, all liver functions have been very good since that time, so I have decided to give Aubagio a good go.

Definitely do not like the possibility of thinning hair, but will have to wait and see.

Started last Friday March 1, 2013.

I am taking the 14mg tablet at night right before I go to bed, to see if that will help me "sleep it off" as someone else in this forum so aptly put!

So far, three tabs taken, today is the start of Day 4.

No nausea.
    No diarrhoea.
    No headaches or aches and pains at all.
    Felt very "off" and slow yesterday, but I can't necessarily attribute that to Aubagio. Most likely just MS and life!