Who works? Who doesn't?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Who works? Who doesn't?

Do you have a job? What do you do? Do you see yourself there for a long time? Or is MS affecting you and you see yourself leaving soon..

I'm a web designer. I sit all day which works for me. Vision and concentration are tough sometimes though. I would hope I'm here for a very long time. Of course when symptoms start kicking I get worried. I have a long drive to and from work too. Just curious about this.

I still work. I have worked in a medical product manufacturing plant for 8 years. I make syringes. I work 12 hour night crews, 7PM-7AM.
    I was diagnosed in October 2011, have been having symptoms for approx 6 years.
    I really noticed the cognitive impairment 6 years ago when I had a second job. I ended up quitting the second job because I thought I was just overdoing it and that was what was causing my new issues.
    It turns out it wasn't because of the second job.
    I am having a difficult time at work and I have been having a difficult time for a few years now and knew even before I knew it was MS that I wouldn't last there until retirement.
    I am going to try and last there maybe until I drop. I am a single mother and I need to keep going for as long as I can.
    DX 10/26/11

Comment

Look2theStars,
      I started noticing physical symptoms 6 months before retirement and was diagnosed 1 year later. Having taught K-8 for 28 years, I am eternally thankful I don't have to work with MS. Teaching kids is such a all-consuming job, I have great empathy for all those teachers who teach with MS. I couldn't do it. I just wouldn't have the energy needed.

Comment

Well...I do still work...but as a stay-at-home mom! I like the relaxed dress code, but the paycheck stinks!