Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings

Hello everyone.

My name is Casey, and I'm a 21 year old college student (22 in about three weeks). I'm studying Psychology in hopes of studying neuro-psychology when I move on to graduate school. I have a loving boyfriend, and I live with him, along with his parents. They don't speak much English, but they are as sweet as can be.

As for why I'm on this thread...I'm in sort of a waiting stage. My life has gotten a bit complicated recently and I've been really stressed out. I've been having weird symptoms for a few years actually, but my parents never took me to the doctor. My mom told me it was "all in my head" and that I "just wanted attention".
    Two weeks ago, I ended up losing feeling in my right hand and right leg. It started with a tingling sensation, then I couldn't feel half of my hand or the bottom of my foot/ankle. I was rushed to the E.R. because they (student health services) thought it was a stroke, and the E.R. took a CT scan. Nothing turned up. They wanted to do an outpatient MRI after I told them a few other symptoms, such as pain in my left eye, dizziness, and extreme fatigue. The tingling is still in my hand, and my leg feels like a dead weight. I hobble a bit when I walk because of it. My boyfriend's father offered me his cane, and it made me almost cry (it was a very sweet gesture, since his back is injured).

I've noticed that I have trouble taking hot showers, and this past summer, I almost passed out numerous times playing tennis with my boyfriend. I tried to bring ice water and keep myself cool, but I kept getting this woozy sensation where I would have to sit immediately or I was going to fall and hurt myself. We ended up changing to evening tennis when the weather was cooler.