Diagnosed November 2011

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Diagnosed November 2011

Hi everyone, I'm new to the MS Community Board. I'll start with introducing myself. My name is Jenny and I'm 25 years old. I graduated with my bachelors degree in Environmental Biology this spring and am currently looking for a job.

I was just married on September 29th of this year, but have actually been with him since I was 16. Last year, while interning at a local wildlife refuge, I got my first physical symptoms of MS. It is actually a somewhat funny story because at first I thought I had rabies! I had picked up a puppy off the side of the road about a week before my symptoms started and he pooped all over me! So, when my whole right side went almost completely numb, along with ringing in the right ear, I looked up my symptoms on google and rabies has symptoms like this.

Anyway, the puppy didn't have rabies and he was adopted out to a family... I also thought it may have been Lyme's disease because I had caught numerous ticks on me. For about a year or so before the physical symptoms started, I had been very forgetful and easily distracted. I went to my doctor and he said for me to quit smoking (I smoked at the time), and I was also diagnosed with hypothyroidism which causes some forgetfulness, etc. Anyway, after rushing to get on Medicaid because my other insurance through my college was ending, I had to wait a couple of excruciating months before finally getting my Medicaid activated and being diagnosed in November.