Newly diagnosed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newly diagnosed

Hello all. I was recently diagnosed with MS. I am currently an AGR soldier. The state DR does not want to initiate an MEB yet. He is concerned I will not meet the 30% disability requirement for retirement. I know that MS is rated by the VA at 30% so how does the Army determine the percentage? I've got almost nine active years and thirteen Guard years. I think he has my best interest at heart, but the stress of being a Readiness NCO drains me completely. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

John
    Diagnosed RRMS April 2014
    Trying to be the best dad I can!

Being in the Guard can make this tricky.
    The rules aren't quite the same as being full-time active duty. The one thing I would offer is don't sign anything work-related without some kind of legal rep in the loop who's on your side.

You may also want to sit down with a VA service officer. Explain up front your diagnosis and your Guard and active duty time. They "might" be able to help or at least steer you in the right direction.

Comment

Newly diagnosed

Thanks for the reply. I am an active guard soldier. It's just like active duty, but we're based in the local community. I've been told and read that an MEB is required. The state dr doesn't want to initiate it just yet.

Comment

Well you hit the jackpot by being AGR. I'm Air Force so I can not answer your questions directly but can point you in the right direction.

First, you need to find a really good Army Personnelist and make them your new best friend. Do not disclose you have MS.

These are the questions I would be asking them.

1) Do I have enough time and points to retire as an AGR today. And if so, do I get a retirement paycheck immediately or do I have to wait until 60, 62, or 65.