Starting Copaxone, Ins won't pay for Avonex

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting Copaxone, Ins won't pay for Avonex

I was Dx in January and sent a free month of Avonex to start..started the Avonex and my insurance decides its "not medically necessary" so now I have to switch to Copaxone. How are your side effects? On the Avonex I got the flu like symptoms-chills, major body aches, etc..

Im a nurse and I HATE shots lol but I managed the once a week and now I will have to do the once a day *sigh*

I have scarring from the once a week injections, any skin problems from the Copaxone?

Thanks for your input

Ive been on copaxone for a month now and as far as skin issues, I have gotten a few lumps under the skin and some redness. The biggest thing with copaxone is the burning and some pain after the injection. Doesnt last long tho. Mine usually lasts less than 5 minutes and that goes away with time. Some also experience itching at the injection site. I hate shots too, but I dont mind this if its going to help keep the flares at bay.

Comment

You will get used to the daily shots and will love having no flu like symptoms. I've been on Copax since 2007, yes the skin reaction is annoying but this is what has worked for me.

Right after the shot press down on the injection site for about 10 seconds, do not rub, just press. Hold ice pack there for a minute or so then apply Benadryl cream to curb the itch. I don't use alcohol swabs before the shot, they just added to the sting. Instead try antibacterial baby bum wipes or just plain old soap and water.

Let us know how you're making out.

Jen
      RRMS 2005, Copaxone since 2007
      "I hope to be the person my dog thinks I am."

Comment

Hi nurse,

Glad you are here.
        Sorry about the recent diagnosis.

I've been on Copaxone for many years because the flu-like symptoms of my first DMD (Disease Modifying Drug), Betaseron.

It takes the body a long time to get used to Copaxone.