Copaxone to Tysabri?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Copaxone to Tysabri?

I've been on copaxone for 3 years. Age 43 diagnosed in 2010 at age 40. I was a professional musician. Post Gulf War (Air Force), became an Oracle DBA in 98'. I am not a DBA anymore but still work 40 days a week at the local university. I still play some music (Thank God) but certainly not to the degree pre-MS of course.

OK --

Last MRIs 7-25-12 showed 3 new brain demyelinating lesions. Cervical/thoracic images reflect no significant changes.

My neurologist feels it's time for a switch either to interferons like Avonex or Rebif. Also Gilenya or Tysabri.

Quick history before last MRI's: I had an absolute stressful work situation that lead to pneumonia -> flare up in November/December of 11'. I had to get a disability lawyer to help keep my job. It's amazing what employers do to folks.. I believe this is what lead to the new lesions.

Oh yeah.. I tried Tec and ended up in the hospital for 4 days. Not an option..

My Question: I currently walk 1-2 miles a day. I have a small limp on my right side but that's been status quo since this all started. Spasticity,Fatigue,tremors w/ Cold & Heat, Dizziness is also the same. I do not feel any worse with these new lesions. I am leaning towards Tysabri (JVC neg.) but I wanted to ask should I continue on Copaxone or based on the new lesion activity, should I switch.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks so much and God Bless us all!!

D.

Your neuro wants to switch meds. Obviously, what you are on isn't working good enough to satisfy him. What about you, how do you feel about it?

Just my personal opinion... I'd lean toward the neuro on this one. Best to ya

Comment