This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to the board too.

My name is Patrick, I too have MS, all of which is in my brain affecting my balance, speech, memory, and concentration. I was told that I was in the super rare to get MS category, being a Male below the age of 30... humbug, why couldn't I have beaten the odds playing the lottery of something?

Some symptoms that some have listed are several of the symtoms that I deal with regularly. Though I am new to my medication (just 2 monthly doses so far and another next week), I hear stories of tysabri helping people to the point regaining motorfunctions and thought processes. I started on Avonex, the weekly injections that my insurance said I had to take for a year before trying any other. I couldn't stand the weekly fevers and the head aches, the weekly body aches, the constant nausea that came with it... well that was no fun. hooray for medications like tysabri.... though they did say that with this medication it was a 1 in 10k chance of a brain virus but is totally worth the risk.

I myself was just diagnosed in 2011, just shy of christmas and when I was I was told that I had the desease for about 5 or 6 years and was starting out in stage 2, I fealt nothing but terror. I just thought I was a bit clumsy until it all of a sudden started affecting my speech. I was told that if it would have been caught when I was in my twenties that I would still be in stage 1 and no doubt with the modern medications never would have progressed further, but it's like they all say, hind sight is 20/20.

Hi MS_ cant_beat_me and welcome to MS world

I'm not sure the neuro you are seeing knows about MS too well.

I was told that I was in the super rare to get MS category, being a Male below the age of 30