New here, and undergoing tests to confirm dx

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New here, and undergoing tests to confirm dx

Hello everybody, my name is Nicole. I am 23 years old. I am currently a nurse and going to school to continue my education to get my BSN. Up until now I considered myself to be strong enough to deal with anything. I've participated in MS walks and donated for a few years now as my best friend's mother has MS, however, I never thought I would have it too. I basically came on here because no matter how strong I try to portray myself to my family, I feel like I'm deteriorating inside and I don't want to burden them with these feelings and make them worry more.

My story began in 2007 when I began having severe muscle spasms in my neck and upper back. I went to doctor after doctor for 4 years and they all told my I just had muscle spasms and it was nothing to worry about. I started to think I was crazy until I lost all function of my left arm. I had an MRI which revealed a herniated disc in my neck that was compressing my spinal cord and left nerve root. I had surgery one week later which seemed to get rid of all my symptoms. I had the surgery in January 2012 and approximately 6 months after surgery I began having different symptoms. I've had daily headaches for about 5 years now which I considered to be "my normal", yeah I know, that's ridiculous, but I thought it had to do with stress or my neck, but recently my headaches changed. I started waking up with the headaches and they started to feel throbbing in nature. I get occasional spontaneous vomiting. I have had blurred vision in my left eye for approximately one year and saw an eye doctor in november 2012 who stated that everything in my eye was fine, but suggested I see a neurologist.