As we All Know MS Sucks.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

As we All Know MS Sucks.

Well went to Shepherd Cnter for my Tysabri yesterday. Saw the Nurse Practioner. Got an RX for Baclofen and they talked about Ampyra as well. They also filled out the paerwork for me to take to my county Tag Office for a Handicapped Permit. I am okay with the Baclofen. Not really sure about the Ampyra. Do not really want the Permit. I feel like getting the Permit would be giving in to this horrible disease. Any Thoughts?

I have no experience with Baclofen or Ampyra.

However, I do have a handicapped parking tag. I use it very seldom. I live in a somewhat small community (under 20,000) and we don't have huge parking lots. It is useful, though, when I go into the city to attend a concert or go to a large shopping mall and all of the close parking spots are taken. I feel like I need to conserve my energy for the walking that is to come.

I don't use my parking tag just to get a spot adjacent to the door when there are others that are not a long long walk away. I like to save them for those who need them more than I do.

Sometimes, though, I've used it when we go out to eat at the cafe at the local golf course. If it's a busy golf day, the regular spots that are close are all full and there are three empty handicapped spots right by the door. I assume that most of their golfers are not disabled, and I don't even feel guilty taking a handicapped spot when there is one empty regular spot close to the door. I'm guessing that the next non-handicapped person to pull into the parking lot will be glad that I left it open.

It's also useful to load or unload a vehicle and then move it to another spot when I'm done to leave it open for someone else.

I didn't ask to have MS. I am on SSDI and I have it for a reason. I don't feel guilty about using this perk occasionally if I respect those who need it more and not over-use it when I don't really need it.
    ~ Faith