When does it stop?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When does it stop?

I was diagnosed with RRMS on April 7, 2015 and have been taking Copaxone 3x per week for a month. So I am relatively new to all of this. My question is, when does this become the "new normal" and stop invading my life all the time? I am blessed with an amazing support system and my husband is truly an angel. My symptoms are purely sensory (Thank God) and consist of random buzzing/vibrating in different areas of my body. But I find myself thinking about it all the time...what will my future look like? Will my son get it? No matter what I do, even if I am enjoying myself, the thoughts sneak up...Will I be able to do this next year? I am trying to live in the moment and appreciate everything, but I am wondering when acceptance will come. Thank you.
    Diagnosed RRMS 4/7/15, symptoms for 8 months prior. Copaxone 4/27/15

What you are experiencing is normal. You are so recently diagnosed, it is all consuming. It doesn't matter the support system or your symptoms, you have to be patient with yourself.

You will cycle thru various emotions as you grieve your former self. My former neuro told me on average, it takes most people two years to really make peace with it all. That is not to say there aren't normal periods in there, just that it is an emotional ride.

I read a book titled "Multiple Sclerosis: The first year" or something like that. It really helped with what to expect. My family also read it, so they had some insight. I also read MS for Dummies. And of course, people here were always helpful.

The toughest part is being patient with yourself and giving yourself permission to feel what you need to feel as you work your way thru the grieving process. I am usuaaly a patient, calm person. When anger took over, it was a side of myself I really didn't know too well.