Dating a woman with RRMS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dating a woman with RRMS

She is a wonderful woman. I'm just learning about her MS. I am worried that her condition will change into SPMS. She takes care of herself. She is a Vegan. How worried should i be?

Hello LovePeaceRespct and welcome to MSWorld.

I am worried that her condition will change into SPMS
    How worried should i be?
    Multiple Sclerosis is a chronic progressive disease. Going from relapsing/remitting MS to Secondary Progressive MS is quite high, especially the longer you have the disease.

The real question is are you worried for her, yourself or both and why. Before you get too involved with a person who has a chronic disease, MS or something else, be sure you know what you could be dealing with and if you are committed in doing so.

If the disease scares you, you are not alone. If the disease scares you and you are not sure you could handle a relationship with that person, if her MS gets more progressive, then you need to be truthful with yourself and her.

Take care and best wishes.
    Diagnosed 1984
    “Lightworkers aren’t here to avoid the darkness…they are here to transform the darkness through the illuminating power of love.” Muses from a mystic

Comment

Yes; MS is a progressive illness and SPMS is not uncommon, but does not happen to everyone. Even if SPMS does not occur, however, MS is no picnic in the park.

It would be very possible for a person in a long-term relationship with someone who has MS to become a caregiver at some point. No one can predict the future. "In sickness or in health" ends up taking on a very different meaning when the illness is chronic and will, not only, never go away, but will also continue to worsen over time.