Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you deal with MS and it taking over your life?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you deal with MS and it taking over your life?

Hi everyone

I'm a female, 24 years old and overall I'm just feeling really down at this point. I'm still studying and it's really the only thing I'm doing in my life. Most of my friends I only speak either at school or through Facebook. My life just means nothing right now, I'm only debilitating and I never have a minute to relax and do something fun.

One of my dreams was to go to this festival this year and just relax for 4 days, not think about the MS but my parents are so strict they kept saying I couldn't go and now the tickets are sold out. So here I am again, just waiting for the MS to progress, studying and that's it.

I'm getting Tysabri which has left me with an inflamed jaw for literally a month and now also this huge lump/pimple in the corner of my eye. Looks like a stye tbh but it's been there for 2 weeks.

I don't know what to do in my life, I feel like I have no goal, nothing to enjoy anymore and the only thing I can think about is how I'm going to progress with the MS.

How do you guys deal with MS and trying to not take over your life?

Sometimes, MS does seem to take over. My strategy is simply to listen to my body, and, when it needs to take over, I guess that I let it. For example, I sleep ten hours each night and take 2 naps each day, because my MS body and brain require it. And, I went on SSDI in 2008 and volunteer 10 - 15 hours per week, rather than seek employment, because that's what I can handle. I've learned to say no to people when what they ask of me is difficult physically or feels like it would add unnecessary stress to my life. And, I don't feel guilty about saying no when I need to.