Lumbar Puncture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lumbar Puncture

I had an LP done on Thursday in order to help in the diagnosis of if I have MS or not. Since then I have been laid up on my back. I have been drinking lots of fluids, especially those with caffeine, but when I get up, I still get shooting pain in my head. I feel shaky and weak as well. I plan on calling my doc in the AM, but I am wondering how much I should be worried. As a teacher, I really need to get back if I can, but I can't in this shape.

Should I be calling the hospital already? Or am I okay to wait to call my doc in the AM? I feel much worse in the AM, as if I am dehydrating during the night, though I drink every time I wake up.

thoughts? Opinions?

thanks

my thought is you should call the on-call doctor at the practice. It sounds like you may have a leak and require a patch. But I do not know for sure, I am not a trained medical person, I and just a regular Joe.
    hunterd/HuntOP/Dave
    volunteer
    MS World
    hunterd@msworld.org
    PPMS DX 2001

"ADAPT AND OVERCOME" - MY COUSIN

Comment

Okay, so never thought the neuro would have on call doctor. So the doc called back and I told him what was going on. He said to go ahead and call the hospital in the morning and let them know that he wants them to go ahead and give me a blood patch in the morning. So your thoughts were right. He thinks I am leaking as well. But he doesn't think they will do the blood patch tonight, so there is no use going in tonight, but to wait till the morning.

Ughs....He said I was doing everything right. And to drink drink drink all night long to try to keep hydrated through the night....yay....

Comment

Sorry to hear that the LP is giving you this problem. The good news is that you got some good advice. Good luck

Comment

Been there twice. Both times I had to wait at least five days after before they would do a blood patch.