Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mistakes and MS? Feedback?

Hi

I'm 48.5yrs my MS was DX about 1995-96. Dunno the exact date because I just ignored it (probably typical male response) also had to earn an income... (kids 0 and 2).

Did not start Copoxone until about 7 years ago. Now on Gilenya {cannot easily take Tysabri easily (JVC+)}. Multiple brain and spinal lesions affecting everything especially my right hand sensations but MS is not visible unless exercising or walking, I limp but I say its juvenile arthritis (had minor episode when young).

This is my difficulty, I work in finance (now very low end work now) but I keep making mistakes in my calculations. The figures can change it seems each time I look at them. My memory is I think terrible I need names of people I work with just to speak to people, I get names so wrong its so embarrassing. I get a bad reputation for accuracy.

My MS is not disclosed. The last person that had MS was let go. My Neurologist feels I will not be able to work from August this year (is that because my MS has become Secondary Progressive I dunno, seems to be cascading).

Working and saving since 18 has left me able to set up myself a small pension and little debt. I have disability insurance which will be 1/2 of my wage that may be able to claim on.

I don't know whether the mistakes are MS related or stress or what is happening. The Neuropsych test shows abnormal memory and deterioration consistent with MS. I don't want to stop work or disclose but am stressed.

Does anyone else seem to have the issue with accuracy and getting things right?

Thanks

Hello. My memory is hopeless, and the thought of making financial calculations - well...

Let's say your neuro is right, and you've got six months before you have to stop working. I'd contact your insurer, and find out just how disabled you have to be to claim.