Newly diaganoed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newly diaganoed

I was just diagnosed with MS. It has been going on for a few years , it took quite a while to be diagnosedand now it is avanced. It now makes sense to all of my symptoms. I am still waiting for insurance to approve medication. The pain, numbness of my extremities has continued. The double vision is a new thing to deal with along with the memory problems. The last two are interesting to me as I am a teacher and forgetting my lectures that I have taught is very frustrating. Can anyone out here give me some information on how to deal with the symptoms?

Hello and Welcome! I just wish you were here for a different reason. If you just browse through the different posts you will find many answers to your questions. If you have a specific question go to the questions area and post a new thread. Once again welcome aboard and try to stay positive.

PEACE
    Tortis

Comment

Hi bsox1822: Welcome to MS World! Love the sign on name! Are you from Boston?

I have both of those symptoms, chronically. For you, I hope they will be intermittent.

For the double vision, it should run its course in 3-6 weeks. If it is so bad you cannot tolerate it, you need to see your ophthalmologist so they can test to see if you need prisms in a pair of glasses (plain if you don't wear prescription glasses, or in your prescription ones if you do). You can also benefit from IVSM-intravenous solumedrol if your neurologist agrees the symptom is bad enough for you to need it. You can also patch one eye, which should take care of the problem for the time being, so you can read, drive, and walk around without feeling so dizzy. This one is easy to give a try.

For the memory problems. Most of us use our smart phones to keep track of things. You may need a tablet for your lectures. I have my phone set for alarms all day long, for meds, appointments, to remember the laundry, everything.