Hello, new here!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello, new here!

My MS story started out a little differently than most. My younger sister has progressive MS and was diagnosed three years ago at the age of 22. We found out about it when she spaced out while driving. She was in a car accident, and at the hospital they did an MRI to see if there was damage. Before we know it, they're asking her how she is treating her MS. Our response? "WHAT MS????"

I'm 28, and I've been a science teacher for seven years now, mostly Biology but with a few funny electives thrown in. I went back to graduate school in pursuit of my Master's degree in Biology. I spent my first two years of the program teaching full time, driving 15+ hours a week between work and school, taking 6 credits a semester, and learning everything I could about MS. I've written most of my graduate research papers on the topic, and I never pass up the opportunity to educate someone about multiple sclerosis...even my students!

Things had been a little off for a while, I was tired all the time, but I figured that was due to my schedule. I have a pronounced tremor in my right hand, but I attributed that to anxiety problems. My shoulders and neck were often in searing pain, but an ER doctor had diagnosed it as osteoarthritis in January. Finally, in April I had constant double vision, numbness up and down both arms and into my hands, dizziness, and most troubling (at least to me, a Type-A person who never stops and always runs at 200%)... complete and utter mental fog. I couldn't remember anything, and I was so slow my friends actually thought I was on Valium. I'm from NJ, so I talk fast, walk fast, think fast. Not any more.